The Institute of Management of Sri Lanka (IMSL) is the national apex body in the field of professional management in Sri Lanka, dedicated to promoting professional management in the country. IMSL was inaugurated on 31st July 1986 and was incorporated by Act of Parliament No. 67 on 17th December 1988. Today, IMSL is a full member of the Asian Association of Management Organizations (AAMO), as Sri Lanka’s sole representative in AAMO.
IMSL is the successor to the Sri Lanka Management Association, which was inaugurated on 5th May 1978 with Mr. Mallory E. Wijesinghe and the late Mr. Cyril S. Chinniah as President and Secretary respectively. Officers and Members of the Sri Lanka Management Association in good standing became, ipso facto, Officers and Members of the Institute on the date of inauguration and incorporation.

The Association was inaugurated on 5 May, 1978 by the late Honble. Cyril Mathew the then Minister of Industries and Scientific Affairs at the National Institute of Business Management premises. The Convener of the meeting was Mr. Mallory E. Wijesinghe the then Chairman of Bartleet and Company Ltd as Chairman of the Steering Committee.

As per the records, the Founder Members had been Mr. Mallory E. Wijesinghe (President), Brig. C P Caldera (Vice President), Mr. R G G O Gunasekera (Vice President), Mr. Lalit Godamune (Vice President), Mr. C S Chinniah (Hony. Secretary), Mr. P S Mahawatte (Hony. Treasurer) and Mrs. Ramola Sivasundaram (Hony. Asst. Secretary). The others who were associated as members at the time of the founding of the Institute were Mr. S T Arulampalam, Mr. S G Premakantha, Mr. P A Silva, Mr. J V Thamber, Mr. Mansoor Ghouse, Mr. K H S Gunatilake, Brig. G R Jayasinghe, Dr. D S Bandarage and Mr. Sunil G Wijesinha




• Mr. Mallory E. Wijesinghe FIM (SL) (Founder President)(1978 – 1988)

• Mr. Mansoor Ghouse FIM (SL) (1988 – 1993)

•  Mr. M J C Amarasuriya FIM (SL) (1993 – 2000)

•  Mrs. Rohini Nanayakkara FIM (SL) (2000 – 2005)

• Col. Faiz ur Rahman FIM (SL) (2005 – 2008)

• Mr. T. Anver Dole FIM (SL) (2008 – to date)

Honorary Secretaries

• Mr. Cyril S Chinniah (Founder Secretary)

• Col. Faiz ur Rahman

• Mr. Anver Dole

• Mr. P Letchumanan

• Mr. Prasanna De Silva

• Mr. T M Jayasekera

• Mr. Sunil Wickramatunga

• Mr. Nujith Samarawickrema

• Mr. Malraj B. Kiriella

• Ms. Manu Tissera Gunasekara

• Mr. Gershaun Arulanantham (2012-to date)


Honorary Treasurers

• Mr. P S Mahawatte

• Mr. Rienzi Wijetilaka

• Mr. R N Kumarasinghe

• Mr. Sunil Wijesinha

• Mr. Prasanna De Silva

• Mr. P Letchumanan

• Mr. B G Jeyasingham

• Mr. Raj Subramaniam

• Miss. Nalini Rajaratnam

• Major. Chandika Dedigama

• Mr. Damitha Kariyawasam (2011 – to date)

Institute of Management of Sri Lanka (IMSL)
2nd Floor, Vidya Mandiraya,
No: 120/10, Vidya Mawatha,
Off Wijerama Mawatha, Colombo 07, Sri Lanka.
Tel: (+94) 11-2669385
E-mail: secretariat@imsl.lk, imsl@sltnet.lk
Web: www.imsl.lk
 AAMO Logo  Member


Developed by ICTechno